SCHout Diversity Conference 2019-2020


ENGAGEMENT ON CAMPUS

Happy Juneteenth! In case you missed it, Juneteenth was officially signed as a federal holiday just yesterday [June 17, 2021]. But it's something we've been celebrating in this country since 1979: when all enslaved people were finally set free. It took 2 year for word to make it all the way to Texas...but ever since it's been a day where African-American families celebrate and learn about their culture. Families who don't identify as African-American also learn about all the ways in which our country has progressed. 

RAYNA GUY
Director of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion


OUR FOUR PILLARS OF ACTION

1.

Creating a platform for discourse with current parents within the community via three scheduled and themed parent forums.

2.

Forming a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee comprised of board members, alumni, faculty, and parents to consider and recommend practices and policy across all aspects of SCH; the committee will continue to meet monthly.

3.

Hiring a workforce at SCH that better represents the diversity of the student body.

4.

Training our faculty and staff in DEI, rethinking curriculum, and analyzing the lens through which we teach.


MEET THE DIVERSITY LEADERSHIP TEAM

Rayna Guy

RAYNA GUY


Director of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

English Faculty
 

rguy@sch.org

Geraldine Allen

Geraldine allen


lower school boys diversity coordinator

lower school boys faculty
 

gallen@sch.org

Zana Bass

ZANA BASS


middle school girls diversity coordinator

world languages faculty
 

zbass@sch.org

Polly Kimberly

polly kimberly


upper school 
diversity coordinator

associate director of college counseling
 

pkimberly@sch.org

Karen Kolkka

KAREN KOLKKA


LOWER SCHOOL GIRLS diversity coordinator

ART FACULTY
 

kkolkka@sch.org

Siobhan O'Connor

SIOBHAN o'CONNOR


MIDDLE SCHOOL BOYS diversity coordinator

HISTORY FACULTY
 

soconnor@sch.org

Victoria Stitt

VICTORIA STITT


upper school 
diversity coordinator

ENGLISH FACULTY
 

vstitt@sch.org


EQUITY & INCLUSION NEWS