Athletic Hall of Fame

Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees 2019

The Springside School and Chestnut Hill Academy Athletic Halls of Fame were established to recognize and honor exceptional athletes and their athletic performances, accomplishments, and contributions to the Schools with a lasting tribute. A ceremony is held every three years to induct the newly elected members into the Hall of Fame.

The Springside School Lois Fernley McNeil '36 Athletic Hall of Fame is located on the second floor of the Vare Field House. A new display system and branding on the wall was given by the Springside Class of 1967 in memory of Ann Wieland Spaeth ’54.

.The Chestnut Hill Academy Athletic Hall of Fame is located in the Athletic Complex and is named in honor of beloved teacher, coach, and mentor John J. Plunkett H’92.

The next Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place in October 2022.

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Springside School

Chestnut Hill Academy


Nominations are welcome, in writing, from all alumni, former and current faculty, parents of alumni, and friends. Nominations should include nominee’s name, class, sports, athletic accomplishments and awards at CHA, Springside, college, or beyond as well as reasons for consideration.

The Nominating Committee has retained nominations and supporting information from previous years for reconsideration. There is no need to resubmit candidates unless additional accomplishments that merit consideration have been achieved.


  • Exceptional contributions to the Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School athletic program by an individual athlete, an athletic team, a teacher-coach, or an administrator will be given primary consideration.
  • Further consideration will be given for outstanding athletic success and accomplishments through performance in college or later life that brings credit and distinction to CHA or Springside.
  • Candidates may be considered after the following time frames: 1) individuals – 10 years after graduation; 2) teams – 10 years after completion of season; 3) teachers-coaches – five years after last Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School coaching assignment; and 4) administrators – five years after full-time employment by Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School.
  • Candidates do not have to be a graduate but must be of exemplary character and reputation and may be elected posthumously.

Blue Devils in the News