About SCH
School Leadership

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has a strong sense of strategic direction, while enabling the Head of School and the SCH administration to implement that vision. Overall authority for school operations rests with the Head of School and runs through separate administrator and various administrative structures. Key administrators report to the board in committee meetings, but only the Head of School is present at all sessions of the board and is a voting member. The board and administration follow NAIS Principles of Good Practice for governance, and the “vision” and “implementation” delineations are clear and run smoothly.

All of the board members participate in one or more of the following committees: Governance, Education and Enrollment (includes Athletics), Assets Management (includes Buildings and Grounds and Investments), Development (includes Capital Campaign), Audit, and Executive. Committees review their plans with the full board at the September meeting and review their progress at the June meeting, with full board input providing guidance on further goal setting and any further metrics needed to better measure progress.

Trustees serve three-year terms with an option to renew for additional consecutive terms. All trustees’ performance is reviewed annually by the Governance Committee.
Board of Trustees 2017–2018
Michael J. Barrist
M. Brian Blake
Rashad I. Campbell ’08
Vanessa Z. Chan
Renee Chenault-Fattah
John S. Detweiler ’91, Treasurer
William M. Doran
Stephen L. Druggan, Head of School
Michael Golden
Pamela von Seldeneck Harris ’81
Richard A. Hayne, Chair
Steven H. Kapp
Youngmoo Kim 
Timothy W. Levin
Patrick S. G. Lindsay
Peter S. Longstreth ’62, Honorary
Deborah E. Maine H’16
Virginia A. Markos
Ann Marie Mendlow
Stacy Perper Methvin ’75
Ellin Dixon Miller ’75
Ludlow Miller, Honorary
Janie B. Parker, Honorary
Robert M. Peck ’70
Joffie C. Pittman ’87
Edward C. Rorer ’61, Honorary
Marjorie Kershbaum Shiekman '67
Andrew Topping
Brian J. Vogt
Camilla Whetzel
Sheryl Winston Smith
Mims Maynard Zabriskie, Secretary
Representatives to the Board of Trustees
Frank V. Aloise Jr., Chief Financial Officer
Gordon S. Gary ’97, President, Alumni Association
Kym Truman Graves ’83, President, Alumnae Association
Nadine Badger Stevenson ’90, President, Parents Association
Bridget Blake, Vice-President, Parents Association
Jennifer James McHugh ’84, Director of Development
David Rauch, Director of Admissions and Enrollment Management

Maria McNicholsBoard Liaison
500 West Willow Grove Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Cherokee Campus | 215-247-7200
Willow Grove Campus | 215-247-4700
Campus Security | 267-246-8427