Eight SCH Students Win Scholastic Writing Awards

Eight SCH Students Win Scholastic Writing Awards

The Philadelphia Writing Project, in partnership with the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, awarded six SCH Upper School and two Middle School students 2024 Scholastic Writing Award.

The students’ work was “reviewed and recognized by a panel of creative professionals, and awarded for its outstanding merit in originality, skill, and the emergence of (their) personal voice and vision.” Established in 1923, the Awards have recognized some of America's most celebrated artists and writers when they were teenagers, including Tschabalala Self, Stephen King, Kay WalkingStick, Amanda Gorman, Charles White, Joyce Carol Oates, and Andy Warhol. 

Upper School:

Leah Schnee ’24  for “To Be a Woman is to Perform” Honorable Mention (Poetry) and “The Room”* Gold Key (Short Story)

Emma Ludwikowski ’25 for “Small Conversations” Silver Key (Personal Essay & Memoir) (not in photo)

Gracyn Lee-Torchiana ’25 for “Girls Like War Too” Silver Key (Personal Essay & Memoir) 

Avy Drew ’25 for “Nightmare on Sherberry Street” Silver Key (Science Fiction & Fantasy)

Julien Friedland ’25 for “Creatures of the Swamp”* Gold Key (Short Story)

 Cecelia Stevenson ’24 for “The Slow Gas Pump” Honorable Mention (Science Fiction & Fantasy)

Scholastic Writing Awards 2024 MS

Middle School:

Jordan Jackson ’28 for "Clouds Are Enchanting" (Poetry) 

Suhaila Elamin ’28 for "The Beings" (Novel Writing)

*Gold Key works have been automatically advanced to the national level of judging in New York City. 


Explore Other News