Athletic Halls of Fame

CHA Athletic Hall of Fame

The Chestnut Hill Academy Athletic Hall of Fame was established to recognize and honor exceptional athletes and their athletic performances, accomplishments, and contributions to the School with a lasting tribute.

Write-ups for each honoree can be found in the dropdown menu bar above, by year of induction.

2019 Inductees

Michael Brown ’00 
Rick Knox ’92 
Michael Mattei ’08 
E.J. Murphy ’95

1998 Varsity Men’s Crew

2013 Inductees

Jeff Larentowicz ’01
Dan Gargan ’01
Gilly Lane ’03
Porter Shimer ’67
Josh Jennings ’90
Jon Freeman ’94
Frank Steel ’77

2001 Varsity Squash Team
1990 Varsity Tennis Team

2006 Inductees

Paul T. Aguirre ’90
George Bailey ’79
Dr. Stephen L. Belmonte ’95
Brendan J. Kilfeather ’90
David M. Kleinfelder ’71
Frank Leverell ’29
John D. MacEachern ’77
John D. Maine Jr. ’79
James G. Masland III ’86
Robert A. McDonnell H’06
David S. Sims ’71

1929 Varsity Baseball Team
1977 Varsity Hockey Team
1994 Varsity Basketball Team

2001 Inductees

Paul J. Burke ’91
Wendell K. Chestnut ’84
Dr. Scott R. Cramer ’76
J. Adam Holland ’90
William M. Kleinfelder ’68
John E. McArdle ’73
Allen H. McCook ’63
Edward H. McGehee, Jr. ’68
Christopher C. Mellor ’69
Brig. Gen. Charles R. Meyer ’32
Tito A. Nanni ’78
Stanley W. Pearson, Jr. ’36
Daniel H. Price ’74
Peter G. Stanley ’60
James M. Talbot II H’81

1977 Varsity Football Team

2016 Inductees

Mike Masland ’91 (posthumously)
Chris McInerney ’04
Rich Repetto ’01
Bob Simmons ’81
Tim Whitworth ’99
Tom Whitworth ’98

D. Stanley Parker ’68 (posthumously)

1999 Track Team
1992 Soccer Team

2010 Inductees

Brian T. Derby ’99
Andre L. Dixon ’94
Michael A. Gizzi ’94
Read M. Goodwin ’93
Michael P. Koplove ’95
Leonard F. Morrow H’93
John J. Plunkett H’92

1966 Varsity Baseball Team
1994 Varsity Track Team 

2003 Inductees

Mark A. Burke ’86
John D. Baizley ’66
Christopher Brassell ’89
Lawrence H. Haas ’71
James A. Hauze ’32
Thomas J. Hogan III ’65
Alan T. Hom ’88
W. G. Howard ’92
G. Clayton Kyle Jr. ’70
David C. Miller ’92
Harold C. Parachini ’33
Richard A. Sheppard ’77
William E. Shuttleworth H’38
John D. Talbot II ’90

1973 Varsity Soccer Team
1941 Football Team

Hall of Fame Athletic Committee

Jim Talbot H’81, Chair
Brendan Flatow '94, Co-Chiar
Read Goodwin '93
Ed Aversa H'15
Paul Hines H’03
Rick Knox ’92
Gilly Lane ’03
John McArdle ’73
Sean Plunkett ’04
Peter Stanley ’60
Dave Wilson, Athletic Director


Nominations are welcome, in writing, from all alumni, former and current faculty, parents of alumni, and friends. Nominations should include nominee’s name, class, sports, athletic accomplishments and awards at CHA, Springside,  college, or beyond as well as reasons for consideration.

The Nominating Committee has retained nominations and supporting information from previous years for reconsideration. There is no need to resubmit candidates unless additional accomplishments that merit consideration have been achieved.
  • Exceptional contributions to the Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School athletic program by an individual athlete, an athletic team, a teacher-coach, or an administrator will be given primary consideration.
  • Further consideration will be given for outstanding athletic success and accomplishments through performance in college or later life that brings credit and distinction to CHA or Springside.
  • Candidates may be considered after the following time frames: 1) individuals – 10 years after graduation; 2) teams – 10 years after completion of season; 3) teachers-coaches – five years after last Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School coaching assignment; and 4) administrators – five years after full-time employment by Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School.
  • Candidates do not have to be a graduate but must be of exemplary character and reputation and may be elected posthumously.
Currently a ceremony is held every three years to induct the newly elected members into the Hall of Fame. 
Mailing Address: 500 West Willow Grove Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Main Reception: 215-247-4700    |   Campus Security: 267-246-8427
GPS & Campus Map |