Athletic Halls of Fame

The Springside School and Chestnut Hill Academy Athletic Halls of Fame were established to recognize and honor exceptional athletes and their athletic performances, accomplishments, and contributions to the Schools with a lasting tribute. A ceremony is held every three years to induct the newly elected members into the Hall of Fame. Our next Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place in October 10, 2019.  

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees


Margaret Elias Gerety '98 | Squash
Katie Rutan '09 | Basketball


Michael Brown '00 | Baseball, Basketball
Rick Knox '92 | Wrestling, Baseball, Football
Michael Mattei '08 | Football, Basketball, Baseball

E.J. Murphy '95 | Soccer, Baseball

1998 Varsity Crew Quad
Chris Greenleaf '99, Frank O'Neill '98,
Thomas Paradiso '98, Tucker Schade '98

CHA Hall of Fame Committee

Jim Talbot H’81, Chair
Brendan Flatow '94, Co-Chiar
Read Goodwin '93
Ed Aversa H'15
Paul Hines H’03
Rick Knox ’92
Gilly Lane ’03
John McArdle ’73
Sean Plunkett ’04
Peter Stanley ’60
Dave Wilson, Athletic Director

SS Hall of Fame Committee

Rosalie Hunter ’82, Chair
BA Fish, HA
Ella Studdiford Cary ’00
Emery Maine Greenwood ’06
Aimee Keough, Assistant Director of Athletics
Leslie Blankin Lane ’75
Laura von Seldeneck Prochniak ’84
Gail Clements Redpath ’81
Katie Warwick Schreiner ’95
Emily Studdiford Vandegrift ’00
Dave Wilson, Athletic Director


Nominations are welcome, in writing, from all alumni, former and current faculty, parents of alumni, and friends. Nominations should include nominee’s name, class, sports, athletic accomplishments and awards at CHA, Springside,  college, or beyond as well as reasons for consideration.

The Nominating Committee has retained nominations and supporting information from previous years for reconsideration. There is no need to resubmit candidates unless additional accomplishments that merit consideration have been achieved.
  • Exceptional contributions to the Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School athletic program by an individual athlete, an athletic team, a teacher-coach, or an administrator will be given primary consideration.
  • Further consideration will be given for outstanding athletic success and accomplishments through performance in college or later life that brings credit and distinction to CHA or Springside.
  • Candidates may be considered after the following time frames: 1) individuals – 10 years after graduation; 2) teams – 10 years after completion of season; 3) teachers-coaches – five years after last Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School coaching assignment; and 4) administrators – five years after full-time employment by Chestnut Hill Academy or Springside School.
  • Candidates do not have to be a graduate but must be of exemplary character and reputation and may be elected posthumously.
Mailing Address: 500 West Willow Grove Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Main Reception: 215-247-4700    |   Campus Security: 267-246-8427
GPS & Campus Map |